Skip to main content

Transfer Credit Policies

Review transfer credit policies, find out which courses do not transfer and find school specific policies.

The following courses do not transfer:

School-specific policies

Two-year or community college credit

Northwestern University's colleges and schools have specific policies on granting credit for courses taken at a two-year or community college after matriculation at Northwestern:

  • Bienen, Communication, and McCormick - Credit accepted with approval.
  • Medill - No credit accepted after sophomore year.
  • SESP - Credit accepted with approval and B-grade or higher.
  • Weinberg - No credit accepted toward a Weinberg degree. In addition, students in other schools may not count such courses toward a Weinberg major or minor.

Weinberg College requirements

Credit earned at other domestic institutions after matriculation at Northwestern may not be applied towards the Weinberg College foundational disciplines requirement, the distribution requirements, or the requirement of proficiency in a language other than English.

Credit earned at foreign institutions by international (F1/J1) students after matriculation at Northwestern may not be applied towards the Weinberg College foundational disciplines requirements.

Students approved to study abroad by the Study Abroad Office may be authorized to apply some credits earned at foreign institutions toward the Weinberg College foundational disciplines requirements.

Courses that are to be applied toward a Weinberg College major or minor must have the prior approval of the Director of Undergraduate Studies or designated adviser in that department or program.

School of Communication requirements

Transfer credits are not permitted to apply for those major requirements that must be taken in the major department. Transfer credits may be approved (by petition) to count towards courses required in SoC. Courses in the major department may also be accepted as elective credit.

Medill School of Journalism, Media, Integrated Marketing Communications

Transfer credit cannot be applied to the journalism major. Transfer credit may apply toward foundational disciplines, the language requirement, and other areas of study (pending approval from those disciplines.