Northwestern University 2015-16 Academic Calendar

Fall 2015 | Winter 2016 | Spring 2016 | Summer 2016

Fall Quarter 2015

September 2015

Tue Sep 1   Fall Tuition Due
Fri Sep 11   Registration for Continuing Students for Fall Quarter 2015 ends 5 p.m.
Fri Sep 11   Wildcat Welcome (New Student Orientation)
Wed Sep 16 New Graduate Student Fall Registration begins
Fri Sep 18   TGS Graduate Student Orientation
Fri Sep 18   New Undergraduate Student Fall Registration
Mon Sep 21   Fall Classes begin 8 a.m.
Mon Sep 21   Change of Registration (Drop/Add)/Late registration for returning students begins
Fri Sep 25 Last day for students in The Graduate School to change grading status from grade to P-N or vice versa for Fall Quarter
Fri Sep 25   Last day to add a class or change a section for Fall
Fri Sep 25   No reductions are made to bills for dropped or swapped classes after this date. Last day for a tuition refund.
Fri Sep 25   Last day to change status to or from part time with tuition adjustment
October
Fri Oct 9   Last day for undergrads to change grading status from grade to P-N or vice versa for Fall
Thu Oct 15   Undergraduate petition to graduate due for Winter 2016
Fri Oct 30   Last day to drop a class for Fall. (No tuition adjustment after Sept. 25)
November
Mon Nov 2 Winter quarter courses viewable for students in CAESAR for the following: Communication, Education, Engineering, Journalism, & Music Graduate Courses, Non-Degree, TGS, and Undergraduate Courses
Fri Nov 4 Undergraduate Withdrawal Petition Deadline 12 p.m.
Fri Nov 6 Application for a Degree due to The Graduate School to receive a degree in Fall
Mon Nov 9   Pre-registration for Winter Quarter begins
Mon Nov 16   Registration for Winter Quarter begins
Wed Nov 25   Thanksgiving vacation begins 6 p.m.
Thu Nov 26   Thanksgiving day
Mon Nov 30   Fall Classes resume 8 a.m.
Mon Nov 30   WCAS Reading Period Begins
December
Tue Dec 1   Last day to file ugrad financial aid applications for Winter Quarter
Fri Dec 4 Dissertation/supporting materials due to TGS for Fall PhD candidates
Sat Dec 5   Fall classes end
Sun Dec 6   WCAS Reading Period Ends
Mon Dec 7   Fall examinations begin
Fri Dec 11 Master's Completion form due for TGS Fall master's candidates
Fri Dec 11   Fall examinations end
Fri Dec 11   Winter Break begins 6 p.m.
Mon Dec 14   Fall grades due at 3 p.m.
Tue Dec 15 Undergraduate petition to graduate due for Spring 2016
Fri Dec 18   Fall degrees conferred
Fall 2015 | Winter 2016 | Spring 2016 | Summer 2016

Winter Quarter 2016

January
Fri Jan 1   Winter Tuition due
Sun Jan 3   Winter Break Ends
Mon Jan 4   Winter Classes begin 8 a.m.
Mon Jan 4   Winter Change of Registration (Drop/Add)/Late registration begins
Fri Jan 8   Last day for students in The Graduate School to change grading status from grade to P-N or vice versa for Winter Quarter
Fri Jan 8   Last day to add a class or change a section for Winter
Fri Jan 8   Last day to change status to or from part time with tuition adjustment
Fri Jan 8   No reductions are made to bills for dropped or swapped classes after this date. Last day for a tuition refund
Mon Jan 18   Suspension of classes for observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Fri Jan 22   Last day for undergrads to change grading status from grade to P-N or vice versa for Winter
February
Fri Feb 5 Application for a Degree due to The Graduate School to receive a degree in Winter
Mon Feb 8 Spring quarter courses viewable for students in CAESAR for the following: Communication, Education, Engineering, Journalism, & Music Graduate Courses, Non-Degree, TGS, and Undergraduate Courses
Fri Feb 12   Last day to drop a class for Winter. (No tuition adjustment after Jan. 8)
Mon Feb 15   Pre-registration for Spring Quarter begins
Mon Feb 22   Registration for Spring Quarter begins
Fri Feb 26 Dissertation/supporting materials due to TGS for Winter PhD candidates
March
Tue Mar 1   Last day to file ugrad financial aid applications for Spring Quarter
Fri Mar 4 Master's Completion form due for TGS Winter master's candidates
Tue Mar 8   WCAS Reading Period Begins
Fri Mar 11 Undergraduate Withdrawal Petition Deadline 12 p.m.
Sat Mar 12   Winter classes end
Sun Mar 13   WCAS Reading Period Ends
Mon Mar 14   Winter exams begin
Fri Mar 18   Winter exams end
Fri Mar 18   Spring Break Begins at 6 p.m.
Mon Mar 21   Winter grades due at 3 p.m.
Fri Mar 25   Degrees conferred for Winter
Fall 2015 | Winter 2016 | Spring 2016 | Summer 2016

Spring Quarter 2016

Mon Mar 28 Spring Break Ends
Tue Mar 29  

Spring Classes begin 8 a.m.

Evanston classes scheduled for Mondays meet on this day (This change applies to all classes on the Evanston campus except those in the Kellogg School of Management and the School of Professional Studies)

Tue Mar 29   Spring Change of Registration (Drop/Add)/Late registration begins
April
Fri Apr 1   Spring Tuition due
Mon Apr 4 Summer quarter courses viewable for students in CAESAR for the following: Communication, Education, Engineering, Journalism, & Music Graduate Courses, Non-Degree, TGS, and Undergraduate Courses
Mon Apr 4   Last day for students in The Graduate School to change grading status from grade to P-N or vice versa for Spring Quarter
Mon Apr 4   Last day to add a class or change a section for Spring
Mon Apr 4   Last day to change status to or from part time with tuition adjustment
Mon Apr 4   No reductions are made to bills for dropped or swapped classes after this date. Last day for a tuition refund
Mon Apr 11 Registration for Summer Session 2016 begins
Fri Apr 15   Application for a Degree due to The Graduate School to receive a degree in Spring
Fri Apr 15   Last day for undergrads to change grading status from grade to P-N or vice versa for Spring
May
Mon May 2 Fall quarter courses viewable for students in CAESAR for the following: Communication, Education, Engineering, Journalism, & Music Graduate Courses, Non-Degree, TGS, and Undergraduate Courses
Mon May 2   Last day to file ugrad Financial Aid applications for 2016-17
Fri May 6   Dissertation/supporting materials due to TGS for Spring PhD candidates
Fri May 6   Last day to drop a class for Spring. (No tuition adjustment after April 4)
Mon May 9   Pre-Registration for Fall 2016 begins
Fri May 13 Master's Completion form due for TGS Spring master's candidates
Mon May 16   Registration for Fall 2016 begins
Mon May 30   Memorial Day (no classes)
June
Wed June 1   Summer Tuition due
Wed June 1   WCAS Reading Period Begins
Fri June 3 Undergraduate Withdrawal Petition Deadline 12 p.m.
Sat June 4   Spring classes end
Sun June 5   WCAS Reading Period Ends
Mon June 6   Spring exams begin
Fri June 10   Spring exams end
Mon June 13   Spring Grades Due at 3 p.m.
Wed June 15   Undergraduate petition to graduate due for Fall 2016
Thu June 16   Baccalaureate
Fri June 17   Commencement
Fri June 17   Spring Degrees Conferred
Fall 2015 | Winter 2016 | Spring 2016 | Summer 2016

Summer Session 2016

Mon June 20   Summer Classes Begin
Mon June 20   Summer Change of Registration (Drop/Add)/Late registration begins
July
Mon July 4   Independence Day (no classes)
Fri July 15 Application for a Degree due to The Graduate School to receive a degree in Summer
Sat July 30   Six-week Summer session ends
August
Fri Aug 5   Dissertation/supporting materials due to TGS for Summer PhD candidates
Fri Aug 12   Master's Completion form due for TGS Summer master's candidates
Sat Aug 13   Eight-week Summer session ends
Sat Aug 27   Ten-week Summer session ends
September 2016
Fri Sep 2   Degrees conferred for Summer

*This document version is preliminary & subject to change